Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Using Cubase - Audio
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Music Software > Cubase & Nuendo
gfclef
I am a newbie with Audio and I need to know if I need an Audio Card and if so, what kind does anyone recommend? I recently purchased the Studio Case (Cubase SE) and I am a little more familiar with the MIDI portion of it. Now I'd like to explore the Audio side. I have a 1GHz PowerPC G4 that only boots in OSX. It is a single processor. Is the Audio Card for better MIDI also?
aquaman
I am pretty new to this but I can tell you what I use. My sound card is an Audiophile USB by M-Audio. It has audio and midi in/out, 24 bit, and 96kHz sampling rate, with drivers for OSX. It's pretty good bang for your buck at ~$200 at online music stores.
gfclef
Do you have to have it? What does it do for you?
dreibel
QUOTE (aquaman @ Oct 11 2003, 16:48)
I am pretty new to this but I can tell you what I use. My sound card is an Audiophile USB by M-Audio. It has audio and midi in/out, 24 bit, and 96kHz sampling rate, with drivers for OSX. It's pretty good bang for your buck at ~$200 at online music stores.

one thing about the Audiophile - check with M-Audio if this will indeed work with a G5, there's been some incompatabilities with older PCI cards and the G5's new PCI-X slots. blink.gif

he could also look into a USB-2 or even better Firewire solution to audio in/out with Cubase.
aquaman
If you are not doing audio in/out and you already have midi in/out you don't need it. However, I use it for recording guitar and vocal lines as well as midi. Without a sound card or break out box with the appropriate inputs you can't record audio directly into your computer.
gfclef
Thanks for replying. I'd like to do vocals eventually , but I'm not in a rush. What card would you recommend?
aquaman