Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cpu Maxed Out?
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Music Software > Live
Soyogen
Hi guys. I just recently purchased a new macbook pro 2.0 ghz and I was shocked it's lack of performance with Live.

With just attempting to play a an instrument in "Operator" with the qwerty keyboard, the cpu jumps to +80%

I have no idea why this is. It's unusable. I have a 1.6 ghz windows laptop and Live works fine. The processor maxes out when I am running 7 or 8 midi tracks and streaming several waves from my hard drive, but that's reasonable. The Mac cracking up while playing one midi track is not.

I purchased the Mac hoping that it would show an improvement over the windows machine. Unfortunately, it's unbearably worse.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
lancet
We'll , I'm no expert, but make sure it's the "Universal " build of Live. (5.2??) I hear v6 is better now.

also make certain that processor performance is set to "highest" in the Energy saver system preference.
jay
QUOTE (Soyogen @ Thu 27 Jul 2006, 21:57) *
Hi guys. I just recently purchased a new macbook pro 2.0 ghz and I was shocked it's lack of performance with Live.

With just attempting to play a an instrument in "Operator" with the qwerty keyboard, the cpu jumps to +80%

I have no idea why this is. It's unusable. I have a 1.6 ghz windows laptop and Live works fine. The processor maxes out when I am running 7 or 8 midi tracks and streaming several waves from my hard drive, but that's reasonable. The Mac cracking up while playing one midi track is not.

I purchased the Mac hoping that it would show an improvement over the windows machine. Unfortunately, it's unbearably worse.

Thanks

Since the new laptop G4 mac´s come with Pentium processors - (no motorola) there´s really no big difference between the machines anymore, just make shure you have enough RAM.
rickenbacker