Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cubase Sx Or Ableton Live?
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Music Software > Cubase & Nuendo
humphz
Hi

I have managed to get my hands on both Cubase SX & Ableton Live 4 ( a good friend was upgrading and he did me a good deal).

Decisions, decisions, decisions...

Which one would suit me best?

I have an emu audity 2000 which i would love to get cranked and would like to use audio samples too but at the moment dont have any way of heraring the two together. (but i do have an analogue mixer but unsure how to set it all up)

This is my first attempt at trying to make my music and although im a wiz when it comes to macs the music side of things kinda baffles me sometimes.

any ideas welcome?

cheers

Humphz
Jsegura
Logic audio man. Is the best.
lepetitmartien
If you compare Cubase which is a legacy common ground sequencer/DAW with Live which s a different beast altogether, it all depends on how you plan to work.
mortalengines
There is a learning curve with both of these. Live is not considered to be on par with certain sequencing programs like Cubase or Logic but, it is still pretty kick ass & pretty easy to get into. If you read interviews with the pros they all seem to use Logic, Cubase or Digital Performer (Pro Tools as well but, PT is not known for its MIDI capabilities). Lots of pros use Live as well - usually inside of some other program, like Pro Tools. Use both....you can use Live inside of Cubase via Rewire (I think) & you would be well on your way. Also, I hope to hell that you have (or get) a proper license to use these programs it is very uncool to use unlicensed software.
gogmagog
I guess you have a mac - since u are in this forum

I have run both cubase sx and ableton on a powerbook

with cubase i spent more time fixing problems and trying to make things