Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Logic Pro7 - Buy In Us, Use In Uk?
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Music Software > Logic Express & Logic Pro
pashalifi
My band mate is working at a college in America for 8 months, he can buy Logic Pro7 with generous educational discount - my question is: will we be able to bring it back to Britain and load it onto our Mac here? Is there any reason this won't work? I can't seem to see any discussion about this anywhere? Can anyone either point me at a relevant item or confirm this will work fine?

Thanks very much!
ourmanflinty
It'll be fine, the authorisation is a usb dongle so as long as that survives crossing the atlantic you'll be ok!
pashalifi
thanks very much - I suspected it would be fine, but it seems too good to be true.. It's half price with the educational discount - $499, and with the strong pound that makes it £265 only, an irresistable price I think!
cheers
zrobert
I was a student at a local JC here in the USA, and bought a bunch of applicaitons, STUDIO MX 2004, which included FLASH MX 2004, ADOBE PHOTOSHOP CS, et al, at the academic discount price. From what I experienced, they are not the full version, and if you're trying to do a tutorial out of a book, you most likely won't be able to finish it, because it's a truncated version. The book was written for a full version. Do yourself a favor and find out the difference between the academic version and the full version. It isn't just price! They leave out some stuff in the full version!
pashalifi
Thanks for that!
I checked, and there are two versions of Studio MX, one Pro, one Academic - the Academic one is cheaper (with discount - $199 instead of $249), was it the $199 you got?
I checked to see if there are two versions of Logic Pro7, but there is only one, so I'm hoping it will be ok. Even if it is truncated though I can still save myself over £400 ($750) so it's worth it you know, otherwise I will have to buy the Express version....