Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pro Tools Purchase
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Music Software > Software on MacOS 9
flobiej
I have some basic questions for any Pro Tools user.

First of all, I'm a songwriter in Nashville and I'm curious about upgrading to a protools setup.

1. Why choose a Mac instead of a PC?

2. Besides the Protools software, can someone list what all I need? I can't seem to find any complete information on what to buy. And some general price estimates would be great. I'm interested in the HD recording and not simply recording it to the computer's drive

I probably sound like an idiot, thats because im pretty new to this. Anyone that could help and be a reference or a guide would be greatly appreciated
Mr.T
Welcome aboard sailor ! Here we go:

'1. Why choose a Mac instead of a PC? '

PC are harder to set up, it's as simple as that... If you don't want to lose time looking for that *$%@#&!?°° .exe extension that's freezing up your whole comp., go for a Mac. Now, if you're already a confirmed PC user, stick with it.

'2. Besides the Protools software, can someone list what all I need?  I can't seem to find any complete information on what to buy.  And some general price estimates would be great. I'm interested in the HD recording and not simply recording it to the computer's drive'

You'll need Digidesign hardware unless you want to use Pro Tools Free which is limited in tracks count (8 max) and is not as well built as the 'real thing' (PTLE or PT TDM). If you wish to go with PTLE (light version), you'll have to buy the hardware: DIGI001 (around 1000$), MBox (not sure of the price, but less than a thousand for sure) or used Audiomedia III. If you've got big,big money, you can go for the TDM gear (now called HD); we're talking thousands $ here...