Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need help with soundcards
440 Forums > English > Mac Music > Getting Started
metagerman
Hi everyone. I am new to the site and I am so glad I found it. Anyway I’ll get to the point. I have a G4/867 with 1.25GB of RAM and I’m ready to get it set up for music production. The first thing I want to do is put a soundcard in it. Can I just get some opinions on what is really good and compatible with my G4. I obviously would like 24 bit sound and so on. I have been thinking about the M-Audio Audiophile 2496 card. Please, I have never used a Mac for this before and I can’t wait to get started. I have wanted a G4 forever and now I have one and I’m ready to get going. hanks in advance.
BagHun
I tried one of those in my G4/400 and it was terrible, but new versions of the drivers could change that to excellent and I wouldn't be surprised.

Do you know what software you're going to be using? What will you be doing?

Answers to those questions will get you much better replies.
metagerman
I will be using ProTools and Reason. The kind of music  I will be doing will be old analog and some digital sounding electronic spacey music. Much like Klaus Schulze so there will be many high and low frequencies that I want to be crystal clear. But I still would like some general feedback about waht some of you guys are already using for a sound card. Thanks again.
Synthetic