MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Getting Magellan Synth (ipad) To Show Up In Garageband (imac)?, Sorry, Newbie Question
PrettyLittleLiar
post Wed 11 Sep 2013, 19:09
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11-Sep 13
From: UK
Member No.: 123,199




Hi
I would like to play magellan as a virtual instrument in garageband. The instructions in Magellan are pretty sparse and I have spent days trying to figure out how to do it.

Here is a link to the user manual pdf - the midi bits are on page 23: http://www.yonac.com/support/index.html#magellanum

According to the instructions, you can midi out from magellan via wifi.

I have created a temporary network on my imac running osx 10.8.4

connected the ipad to the temporary wifi network

gone to audio / midi settings under utilities on the imac and created a new session under "network"

clicked the ipad under "directories" and then "connect" and it then appears next to "participants", so am pretty sur eit is connected.

However, when I launch Garageband and create an instrument track,when I go to the edit panel and search for all instruments listed, it does not appear.

Am I missing something?

Basically, I am building the song in garageband and want to use magellan to add additional effects, sounds etc. I do not want to have to build a separate track in magellan and then 'record' it and export it via wifi and then put the two together in GB.

I apologise if I am unclear in my description of my problem. I am very new to all of this and not very technically minded. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sorry, should add that, in Magellan, I have gone to the prefs tab and clicked the midi out button. When I click on outputs, my wifi session is listed there and when I click it it gets the checkmark next to it.

This post has been edited by PrettyLittleLiar: Wed 11 Sep 2013, 19:32
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Sat 14 Sep 2013, 16:22
Post #2


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




what you're trying to do just won't work.
if i read your post correctly, you've got an idea of using Magellan, on your ipad, as an AU plug in in Garageband on your imac, remotely via wifi.
not possible.
Magellan isn't an au plug in.
it may be possible to stream midi out from GB (or another sequencer) to a wifi session, and play Magellan on your ipad.
the resulting audio stream could be saved to a file and imported into an audio track in GB.
Magellan's 'midi out' is not relevant in this instance.
it's easy to confuse MIDI with Audio when you start working in this field, and i think you've hung up on that snag. i hope this helps. there are tons of great (even free) AU instruments that will work in GB, locally on your imac.
good luck!


QUOTE (PrettyLittleLiar @ Wed 11 Sep 2013, 11:09) *
Hi
I would like to play magellan as a virtual instrument in garageband. The instructions in Magellan are pretty sparse and I have spent days trying to figure out how to do it.

Here is a link to the user manual pdf - the midi bits are on page 23: http://www.yonac.com/support/index.html#magellanum

According to the instructions, you can midi out from magellan via wifi.

I have created a temporary network on my imac running osx 10.8.4

connected the ipad to the temporary wifi network

gone to audio / midi settings under utilities on the imac and created a new session under "network"

clicked the ipad under "directories" and then "connect" and it then appears next to "participants", so am pretty sur eit is connected.

However, when I launch Garageband and create an instrument track,when I go to the edit panel and search for all instruments listed, it does not appear.

Am I missing something?

Basically, I am building the song in garageband and want to use magellan to add additional effects, sounds etc. I do not want to have to build a separate track in magellan and then 'record' it and export it via wifi and then put the two together in GB.

I apologise if I am unclear in my description of my problem. I am very new to all of this and not very technically minded. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sorry, should add that, in Magellan, I have gone to the prefs tab and clicked the midi out button. When I click on outputs, my wifi session is listed there and when I click it it gets the checkmark next to it.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
PrettyLittleLiar
post Sat 14 Sep 2013, 16:48
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 11-Sep 13
From: UK
Member No.: 123,199




QUOTE (houstonmusic @ Sat 14 Sep 2013, 16:22) *
what you're trying to do just won't work.
if i read your post correctly, you've got an idea of using Magellan, on your ipad, as an AU plug in in Garageband on your imac, remotely via wifi.
not possible.
Magellan isn't an au plug in.
it may be possible to stream midi out from GB (or another sequencer) to a wifi session, and play Magellan on your ipad.
the resulting audio stream could be saved to a file and imported into an audio track in GB.
Magellan's 'midi out' is not relevant in this instance.
it's easy to confuse MIDI with Audio when you start working in this field, and i think you've hung up on that snag. i hope this helps. there are tons of great (even free) AU instruments that will work in GB, locally on your imac.
good luck!


QUOTE (PrettyLittleLiar @ Wed 11 Sep 2013, 11:09) *
Hi
I would like to play magellan as a virtual instrument in garageband. The instructions in Magellan are pretty sparse and I have spent days trying to figure out how to do it.

Here is a link to the user manual pdf - the midi bits are on page 23: http://www.yonac.com/support/index.html#magellanum

According to the instructions, you can midi out from magellan via wifi.

I have created a temporary network on my imac running osx 10.8.4

connected the ipad to the temporary wifi network

gone to audio / midi settings under utilities on the imac and created a new session under "network"

clicked the ipad under "directories" and then "connect" and it then appears next to "participants", so am pretty sur eit is connected.

However, when I launch Garageband and create an instrument track,when I go to the edit panel and search for all instruments listed, it does not appear.

Am I missing something?

Basically, I am building the song in garageband and want to use magellan to add additional effects, sounds etc. I do not want to have to build a separate track in magellan and then 'record' it and export it via wifi and then put the two together in GB.

I apologise if I am unclear in my description of my problem. I am very new to all of this and not very technically minded. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Sorry, should add that, in Magellan, I have gone to the prefs tab and clicked the midi out button. When I click on outputs, my wifi session is listed there and when I click it it gets the checkmark next to it.




Thank you so much for your response. Yes you were totally correct in that I did not understand the difference between audio outputs and midi outputs. I did get GB to pick up the midi signals (and got some very interesting effects) via wifi though. But will look at exporting the soundfile and importing it into GB later.

Thanks again - am learning loads.

PS Magellan is amaaaaazing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Sun 15 Sep 2013, 16:40
Post #4


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




rock on.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Sat 21 Sep 2019, 00:33
- © MacMusic 1997-2008