MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Keyboard Usb With ..., keyboard with sampler memory to put samplers from logic
canoleguer
post Mon 18 Jul 2011, 12:12
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 27-Jul 10
Member No.: 114,730




hello macmusicians!

my question is if there are some usb keyboard controller, simple 61 keys without no sounds but yes with some sistem to put 3 or 4 sounds from sampler logic.

I want a lighty keys and a little, not a great keyboard controller with multifuncions, etc

i mean it's to get the keyboard to play anywhere with the sounds of the Mac- logicpro9 but just without the PC mac.

i don't know if i explain rigth or it's just only possible with a normal sampler keyboard.

I hope someone could help me,

thanks,

dani
pianist, producer, spain, BCN
www.myspace.com/danirambla
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Mon 18 Jul 2011, 15:55
Post #2


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




if i understand you, you're asking if there is a simple 61 key instrument that allows you to load sounds from your logic sampler, and take to a performance, without worrying about the whole computer.

as far as i know, none of the the modern USB keyboards can do this. but there are many old 'sampler keyboards' that did just this. it's possible to find them used. they old boards have a problem, however. they each use a different sample format. your logic sampler's format would have to be adapted to the specific keyboard.

i don't know anyone who's bothering to do this.

other solutions to this challenge are: another laptop. receptor host. workstation keyboard.
good luck!

QUOTE (canoleguer @ Mon 18 Jul 2011, 04:12) *
hello macmusicians!

my question is if there are some usb keyboard controller, simple 61 keys without no sounds but yes with some sistem to put 3 or 4 sounds from sampler logic.

I want a lighty keys and a little, not a great keyboard controller with multifuncions, etc

i mean it's to get the keyboard to play anywhere with the sounds of the Mac- logicpro9 but just without the PC mac.

i don't know if i explain rigth or it's just only possible with a normal sampler keyboard.

I hope someone could help me,

thanks,

dani
pianist, producer, spain, BCN
www.myspace.com/danirambla

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kcsherrell
post Tue 19 Jul 2011, 07:19
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 06-Feb 09
From: Kelso - US
Member No.: 106,449




Hello,

All you need is a MIDI Controller (M-Audio has a very big selection of controllers ranging from $100 to $500) if you going to only use the sounds from the programs like logic, but MIDI Controllers do not have a hard drive therefore you can't store them into the controller, however its easy to save your setup in Logic on the CPU.

Otherwise, if you need to store sounds you need a Workstation that has sampling (Yamaha Motif, Roland Fantom, etc....).

I hope I understood your question right? If so, you should go to a website like futureproducers.com or gearslutz.com and there are sections for hardware, software, etc... Which will give you some individual prospective.

PEACE
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Audios
post Tue 19 Jul 2011, 12:53
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 24-Apr 11
From: Akron - US
Member No.: 117,560




QUOTE (kcsherrell @ Tue 19 Jul 2011, 02:19) *
Hello,

All you need is a MIDI Controller (M-Audio has a very big selection of controllers ranging from $100 to $500) if you going to only use the sounds from the programs like logic, but MIDI Controllers do not have a hard drive therefore you can't store them into the controller, however its easy to save your setup in Logic on the CPU.

Otherwise, if you need to store sounds you need a Workstation that has sampling (Yamaha Motif, Roland Fantom, etc....).

I hope I understood your question right? If so, you should go to a website like futureproducers.com or gearslutz.com and there are sections for hardware, software, etc... Which will give you some individual prospective.

PEACE



Honestly all the above are correct. I used to have an Ensoniq EPS-16+ which was strictly a sampler keyboard. All sounds were loaded in banks or tracks and the sampling was in 8-bit and very noisy. So much so that i had to stop using it on stage.

I got the M-Audio Keystation-88-PRO which i take on stage and use in studio. I have Digital Performer, Kontakt 3.5, Omnishpere, Stylus RMX, PLAY and a number of other soft synths loaded in both my studio computer (12-core MAC PPC) and my laptop, a MAC power book. Simple and elegant solution.

Get an inexpensive USB MIDI controller keyboard and fire it into a laptop that's loaded with the samples you need.

J.

This post has been edited by Audios: Tue 19 Jul 2011, 12:54
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Marisol
post Wed 20 Jul 2011, 12:38
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 30-May 11
From: US
Member No.: 117,896




One of a few non-DAW options may be Waldorf Blofeld keyboard - it has 60 mb of memory on board. Still it is WAY more expensive than a generic MIDI controller. I would rather use a MIDI keyboard with a laptop, as it was suggested - it is better than buying, say, Blofeld with functions you are not going to use. As I see, you are a pianist, so it would be better to buy a keyboard with aftertouch. If you will write what are your requirements - i.e. do you need additional buttons/knobs etc. - it will be simpler to suggest a specific model.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
manchoa
post Thu 21 Jul 2011, 07:21
Post #6


Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 06-Nov 09
From: Pärnu - FI
Member No.: 111,338




i think there is no cheap way and you cant do that with controller. What you need is a sampler synth like Roland Fantom or a controller and external sampler like Akai MPC, Korg microsampler or similar. Or, if you dont want to carry your Mac with you, buy a Mac mini for live gigs....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
manchoa
post Thu 21 Jul 2011, 10:08
Post #7


Rookie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 06-Nov 09
From: Pärnu - FI
Member No.: 111,338




if you say some samples from Logic, I guess You mean some sounds from Logic EXS24 sampler. Well , it means you must resample these sounds again... I dont say its impossible, but - good luck with that. You need to resample all the samples and layers. and velocities. A looot of work and time and it will never sound exactl the same as it was in Logic. But if you want to take some sounds from you computer to the road without a computer, I suggest you to think about hardware VST player. I use one ofthese a lot and I have the same sounds in my PC and in my live gogs. You ca use any VST virtual instrument with it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
toni2032
post Thu 21 Jul 2011, 14:03
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 02-Sep 10
From: Guarulhos - BR
Member No.: 115,086




QUOTE (canoleguer @ Mon 18 Jul 2011, 13:12) *
hello macmusicians!

my question is if there are some usb keyboard controller, simple 61 keys without no sounds but yes with some sistem to put 3 or 4 sounds from sampler logic.

I want a lighty keys and a little, not a great keyboard controller with multifuncions, etc

i mean it's to get the keyboard to play anywhere with the sounds of the Mac- logicpro9 but just without the PC mac.

i don't know if i explain rigth or it's just only possible with a normal sampler keyboard.

I hope someone could help me,

thanks,

dani


Dani

It is not possible to understand what you mean when you say ' use logic 9 without a Mac or PC' ?
Normally Casio keyboards are not expensive and are functional.
Toni
pianist, producer, spain, BCN
www.myspace.com/danirambla

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Tue 24 Oct 2017, 02:55
- © MacMusic 1997-2008