MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Digi Or Motu, audio interfaces for snow leopart , logic pro and macbookpro
canoleguer
post Tue 27 Jul 2010, 13:03
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 27-Jul 10
Member No.: 114,730




hello!
im new here and would like get opinions about the audio interfaces in market

firewire 800? there are only 2. It's ok wth fw400?

64 bits front 24 or 32, its necessary?

the mics pream are important? i am thinking that it would be better have a good preams and then an audio interface with several imputs.

i want to record a large piano (in stereo), acoustic bassand drums

also to compose with samples and keys wth midi /or usb.

thanks a lot for your ideas?

pd: some one speak spanish is better for me
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Wed 28 Jul 2010, 14:50
Post #2


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Posts: 15,189
Joined: 23-Dec 01
From: Paris - FR
Member No.: 2,758




No habla Español, sorry…

- All Apple computers right now are 64 bits. It only affect the way they handle data and accessible memory. it's different from the way the audio engine in software works audio and the bits/sample rate of audio files. If you're more precise maybe I'll can explain more.

- Mic pre on interfaces are usually decent, but not much more. You can get a better choice from using separated pre you plug in the interface.


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melenko
post Wed 28 Jul 2010, 19:39
Post #3


SuperHero
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,781
Joined: 19-Nov 02
From: Bruxelles - BE
Member No.: 9,408




+ 1 with LPM's reply about the preamps.
It should be better to buy a very good preamp + a multiple out's audio/midi interface.
RME is a good choice in FW800, believe me, and also forget the DIGI002-3.
But, it's finally up to the amount of money you get in your pockets.


--------------------
MacPro dual 2.66 - 8 Go - SL10.6.6- DP 7.2.1 - RME FFCE 800 - URS, Sonnox, Stilwell, Nomad Factory, Kontakt 4.2.2, Trillian, Stylus, EZ drummer, SD2, UVIworkstation, Altiverb - KRK - JBL
Neve 8801 - Brauner - Roland A-37, etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
canoleguer
post Thu 29 Jul 2010, 07:01
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 27-Jul 10
Member No.: 114,730




thanks a lot, men!
i was thinking there aren't no replies, for the older data of messages

petit martin (and melenko) i'd like speak french, but i cant (yet)

D'acord, i understand (martin) the audio interfaces record audio data at 24 bits, but the machine works at 64 b.
Oook!,
i think it would be better take an firewire 800 (RME), more expensive but faster
I'll have not any problem wth mac?
i hear some problems in people wth this interface

i could take the 003 to get the protools sofware
I'm interested to have it

so, the motu goes out of my preferences

thanks a lot, guys, and a pleasure to hear yours opinions

i am pianist, you want to visit: www.myspace.com/danirambla
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
canoleguer
post Thu 29 Jul 2010, 08:02
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 27-Jul 10
Member No.: 114,730




hi,

last question:

USB.2 or Firewire 400
i think are similar
the best, FW800

and...
do you know SF-PRO24/DSP (Focusrite)?

its very cheap (300€<>) to the options (16in/8out)

and the preamp micro (2 , i think)...are good, or...?
see you (all)

up the music!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melenko
post Thu 29 Jul 2010, 22:44
Post #6


SuperHero
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,781
Joined: 19-Nov 02
From: Bruxelles - BE
Member No.: 9,408




Don't forget what we have sayed, better to have a good preamp.
And then why not a good interface like Focusrite.
But best results could be attempt with a better interface like the RME.
It's up to you now!

I use RME FFce 800 4 years now, and that stuff is very good.
Some minor problems, and a very good warranty.

This post has been edited by melenko: Thu 29 Jul 2010, 22:46


--------------------
MacPro dual 2.66 - 8 Go - SL10.6.6- DP 7.2.1 - RME FFCE 800 - URS, Sonnox, Stilwell, Nomad Factory, Kontakt 4.2.2, Trillian, Stylus, EZ drummer, SD2, UVIworkstation, Altiverb - KRK - JBL
Neve 8801 - Brauner - Roland A-37, etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Fri 30 Jul 2010, 00:16
Post #7


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Posts: 15,189
Joined: 23-Dec 01
From: Paris - FR
Member No.: 2,758




The fact the computer is 64 bits has nothing to do with the way audio is recorded or worked. What is important in working audio is the bit depth you record (16 or 24, more starts to appear, but it's over the top right now) and the frequency. On the software side it's the way the audio engine handles audio and do it's maths. In software, it's better to have an audio engine in 32 bits or more, "floating" is better (more values possible than unfloating).

If you plan to record a piano and some drums, you need at least a the minimum entries to record them all at once. That is at least two stereo couples or more for direct micing of the drums.


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Sat 21 Oct 2017, 09:29
- © 440 Forums 2011