MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Waves Master Restoration Suite Plug-ins, How to use them?
condorman
post Mon 29 Mar 2010, 20:55
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-Mar 10
Member No.: 113,480




Hello,

Could anyone explain how to launch these plug-ins (from WaveArts)?

Do I need to install a software before (like "Restoration Native" from Waves)?

Thank you for your help.

This post has been edited by condorman: Mon 29 Mar 2010, 20:56
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Tue 30 Mar 2010, 02:26
Post #2


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




WaveArts and Waves have nothing to do with each other.
--
to work any plug in, you'll need a host. one example is the program Peak, from Bias. there are numerous examples of other editing and tracking programs that host VST or AU plugs.

each host instantiates its plug ins a bit differently, but but basically it's the same.

open your host, open the audio file you'll want to work on. go to the plug in menu, and chose the plug in you want to work with. a window for that plug will open over the audio file's window. make your adjustments, bounce your changes, and re-save the audio file, now with the effects you've printed into ram.

i often rename the re saved file, so i can keep a back up current.

good luck!

This post has been edited by houstonmusic: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 02:27
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
condorman
post Tue 30 Mar 2010, 09:55
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-Mar 10
Member No.: 113,480




Thank you houstonmusic for your help. Now I get it!

I have tried with Audacity and it works. I can see the WaveArts plug-in windows.
But the thing is I can't really adjust a song as I want. Actually I don't know how to display the music in the plug-in window and see its spectrum. I confirm I have opened an audio file before in the host (Audacity).
Maybe you could help.

And do you have any idea about to use this plug-ins with GarageBand?

Thanks! smile.gif

(Note : sorry, it seems I should have posted in the "Plug-ins and Virtual Instruments" section)

This post has been edited by condorman: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 10:00
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
condorman
post Tue 30 Mar 2010, 15:50
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 29-Mar 10
Member No.: 113,480




A photo to show the problem (you see, the spectrum doesn't appear in the MR Click window) :



This post has been edited by condorman: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 15:52
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Tue 30 Mar 2010, 16:52
Post #5


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




great, you're on your way.
now, i've never used that de click plug in you're showing. but i bet it doesn't display a full waveform, as audacity does. however, i do see that it's got metering... does the plug in show audio on it's meters as it plays? if it does, it's processing the file. i should point out that you've got to play the file for the processing to be active. once you've got your settings, it's possible to select only a small area of the file and 'bounce' it, but to set your plug in parameters, the plug needs to have audio sent to it by playing the file. sorry if that's too basic a concept, just saying... anyhow, if the meters don't show anything when you play the file something is screwy.

GB is able to open AU instruments and plug ins. after you create a track, double click it to edit it, and the edit pane will appear. there are pull down menus, showing compressor, etc, and some will be blank. pull down and examine the list at the bottom. you should see your AU plug ins listed there. some will instantiate with their normal look, some will look different, (a default interface) and some won't open at all. it's a crap shoot. if they open, they should work.

have fun.

This post has been edited by houstonmusic: Tue 30 Mar 2010, 16:58
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonester
post Wed 31 Mar 2010, 12:35
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 03-Jun 09
From: Central Valley - US
Member No.: 109,043




not familiar with the plug, but do you have to click the "preview" button first?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Thu 1 Apr 2010, 00:59
Post #7


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




ah ha.
yes, i think that audacity is only vst, and that it's not realtime.
select an area of audio, and click the preview button.
cheers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonester
post Thu 1 Apr 2010, 13:04
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 03-Jun 09
From: Central Valley - US
Member No.: 109,043




QUOTE (houstonmusic @ Wed 31 Mar 2010, 18:59) *
ah ha.
yes, i think that audacity is only vst, and that it's not realtime.
select an area of audio, and click the preview button.
cheers.



Audacity is not a plug in, but rather a separate audio editor, so it is not technically a VST. WaveArts Restoration is the plugin. I know that when I used to use Sound Forge, if you wanted to insert a plugin and hear a section of processed audio, you needed to select the section of audio, and "preview" it first. Must be the same with Audacity (which, IMO is an awesome piece of software, especially freeware)

hope this helps

cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Thu 1 Apr 2010, 16:38
Post #9


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 231
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




right right,
of course i meant, it only HOSTS VST. i was writing quickly on the fly.
i'm pretty impressed with what audacity does too, though it's got some behaviors that bug me.
i'm using Peak, unless i'm at the theater where they won't pony up for a license. ; )
same deal though, you're right, gotta use preview to hear it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tonester
post Thu 1 Apr 2010, 20:04
Post #10


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 03-Jun 09
From: Central Valley - US
Member No.: 109,043




QUOTE (houstonmusic @ Thu 1 Apr 2010, 10:38) *
right right,
of course i meant, it only HOSTS VST. i was writing quickly on the fly.
i'm pretty impressed with what audacity does too, though it's got some behaviors that bug me.
i'm using Peak, unless i'm at the theater where they won't pony up for a license. ; )
same deal though, you're right, gotta use preview to hear it.



Peak. Nice! Someday....

Audacity hosts AU as well. I'm not sure about RTAS, though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Thu 24 Jul 2014, 13:22
- © MacMusic 1997-2008