MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Trouble Editing In Dp, Trouble Editing In DP
mixman77
post Tue 27 May 2008, 16:37
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-May 08
From: Goose Creek - US
Member No.: 101,333




Hi Everyone,

My nic name is mixman77, it's a pleasure to be able to come here and meet you guys, get advice, etc. My problem is with drum tracks. I recently transfered tracks from my reel into DP. I've done this many times with no problems. This time I have got boast in snare hits. They are random, very strange. I am the old school reel machine/console/tape splicing type. I'm new to DP but I've been getting around pretty good. What I've been trying to do is normalize the entire track or set the levels to the same loudness. For whatever reason i can't seem to find the terms or something to get this done. Any advice on how to level these tracks would be greatly appreciated.

Thx in advance...

Peace,

Mix

This post has been edited by mixman77: Tue 27 May 2008, 16:38
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
melenko
post Wed 28 May 2008, 19:56
Post #2


SuperHero
********

Group: Members
Posts: 4,781
Joined: 19-Nov 02
From: Bruxelles - BE
Member No.: 9,408




Hi,
first, what do you mean by "transferring from my reel?".
Did you ment you recorded it on an analog way?
Second, normalize won't fix your problem, if it is a level problem.
What about the mixing table in DP?


--------------------
MacPro dual 2.66 - 8 Go - SL10.6.6- DP 7.2.1 - RME FFCE 800 - URS, Sonnox, Stilwell, Nomad Factory, Kontakt 4.2.2, Trillian, Stylus, EZ drummer, SD2, UVIworkstation, Altiverb - KRK - JBL
Neve 8801 - Brauner - Roland A-37, etc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mixman77
post Wed 28 May 2008, 19:59
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-May 08
From: Goose Creek - US
Member No.: 101,333




Citation (melenko @ mer 28 mai 2008, 14:56) *
Hi,
first, what do you mean by "transferring from my reel?".
Did you ment you recorded it on an analog way?
Second, normalize won't fix your problem, if it is a level problem.
What about the mixing table in DP?


Hi,

I recorded it to reel before I purchased my MAC and DP. Thank you for the advice... I check into the mix table.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mixman77
post Thu 29 May 2008, 17:07
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-May 08
From: Goose Creek - US
Member No.: 101,333




Citation (mixman77 @ mer 28 mai 2008, 14:59) *
Citation (melenko @ mer 28 mai 2008, 14:56) *
Hi,
first, what do you mean by "transferring from my reel?".
Did you ment you recorded it on an analog way?
Second, normalize won't fix your problem, if it is a level problem.
What about the mixing table in DP?


Hi,

I recorded it to reel before I purchased my MAC and DP. Thank you for the advice... I check into the mix table.



Well I've tried everything and nothing is working. I think I'm going to have to sequence the drums instead of using real track. bummed out. Thx for the help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azusa
post Fri 30 May 2008, 01:17
Post #5


Advanced Member
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 21-Aug 02
Member No.: 7,031




You can use volume automation to control the snare.
Or better yet why not record the whole thing straight to DP.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mixman77
post Fri 30 May 2008, 15:42
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-May 08
From: Goose Creek - US
Member No.: 101,333




QUOTE (azusa @ Thu 29 May 2008, 20:17) *
You can use volume automation to control the snare.
Or better yet why not record the whole thing straight to DP.



I'm on the east coast and the drummer who laid the original tracks down is in LA, west cost. I would if i could.

QUOTE (azusa @ Thu 29 May 2008, 20:17) *
You can use volume automation to control the snare.
Or better yet why not record the whole thing straight to DP.



I'm on the east coast and the drummer who laid the original tracks down is in LA, west cost. I would if i could. You would think a digital computer software would allow you to make everything the same volume. Guess not
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
azusa
post Sat 31 May 2008, 00:40
Post #7


Advanced Member
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 300
Joined: 21-Aug 02
Member No.: 7,031




I have never experienced this on DP.
May be you should check the playback head on the tape.
It tends to do this kind of thing.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
houstonmusic
post Sat 31 May 2008, 17:53
Post #8


Senior Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 246
Joined: 06-Feb 07
From: Berkeley - US
Member No.: 88,124




DP is great about spot volume adjustments. there are several ways to do it. one is the rubber band volume automation, as mentioned above.
another way is to use destructive editing. highlight the offending snare hit, and Command-Y to split it into a new soundbite. you can then use the Trim plug-in to adjust the volume of the bite, creating a new bite that replaces the old one.
Alternatively, highlight the offending hit, split it, and go to the audio menu where you'll find a non destructive audio volume command. this is new, i believe.

nomalizing tracks is not something I do in DP, but if you've got a need, use the the waveform editor, (built in), or an external editor. I don't believe normalizing will solve your problem.

I presume you've considered slamming the track with a hard limiter...

good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mixman77
post Sat 31 May 2008, 19:33
Post #9


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 27-May 08
From: Goose Creek - US
Member No.: 101,333




QUOTE (houstonmusic @ Sat 31 May 2008, 12:53) *
DP is great about spot volume adjustments. there are several ways to do it. one is the rubber band volume automation, as mentioned above.
another way is to use destructive editing. highlight the offending snare hit, and Command-Y to split it into a new soundbite. you can then use the Trim plug-in to adjust the volume of the bite, creating a new bite that replaces the old one.
Alternatively, highlight the offending hit, split it, and go to the audio menu where you'll find a non destructive audio volume command. this is new, i believe.

nomalizing tracks is not something I do in DP, but if you've got a need, use the the waveform editor, (built in), or an external editor. I don't believe normalizing will solve your problem.

I presume you've considered slamming the track with a hard limiter...

good luck!



Hey,

Thank you for the advice. I will try the things you've suggested. Thx again!


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Thu 14 Dec 2017, 22:02
- © MacMusic 1997-2008