MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Clicks And Poping, Cubase mac book
luminati
post Mon 9 Apr 2007, 16:59
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 05-Jan 07
From: Litchfield - US
Member No.: 86,961




Can some one tell me how to stop
the clicking and popping sound while listen to my songs.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Tue 10 Apr 2007, 04:18
Post #2


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Posts: 15,189
Joined: 23-Dec 01
From: Paris - FR
Member No.: 2,758




1/ Hello

2/ where are the files? if they are on the internal hard drive: use a firewire external drive, beyond a few tracks it's mandatory. you can't play files/run the system/rune the apps/run the swap file of the virtual memory on the internal slow disk there's inside the macbook

3/check the audio buffer, set it a bit higher.

How much RAM have you installed?


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
oaomdal
post Thu 26 Apr 2007, 18:39
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 25-Apr 07
Member No.: 90,631




QUOTE (luminati @ Mon 9 Apr 2007, 17:59) *
Can some one tell me how to stop
the clicking and popping sound while listen to my songs.


Hi!

I do not have a mac, but on a PC the clicks and pops may come from four reasons.
1. The hard drive is too slow. put the files on a high RPM disk, maybe an external firewire disk.
2. Not enough RAM, the PC/MAC(?) is forced to use a swap file on the HD. The data on the HD is acessed slower than on the RAM, it's like HD: What did you do 23rd june last year? and RAM: What did you have for lunch today? Try to close a few programs. Running programs use ram, even if they are minimized.
3. Too slow CPU. On PC, close as many programs as you can, turn of all fancy visual effects, use a plain desktop color and disable drivers that you do not need. On a windows PC, just looking at it takes up a lot of CPU power (well not exactly, but it sure feels like it...) I am not sure how MAC's work, but for all electronic devices: -the less programs it has to focus on, the better it can perform.
4. The soundcard is configured incorrectly. Try to find somewhere to adjust the samplerate and the bit-per-sample value, and find values that work. The most common samplerate is 44,1kHz and BPS-rate 16bit.
You may also try to increase the audio-buffersize, but that will also increase the latency. If you can find a parameter called samplesize, and increase this too, but this will also increase the latency.
-Low values = bad sound, no clicks and pops
-High values = nice sound, may create clicks, pops and high latency.

I hope my hints was helpful to you and others.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Fri 27 Apr 2007, 04:08
Post #4


Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Posts: 15,189
Joined: 23-Dec 01
From: Paris - FR
Member No.: 2,758




Note, on macs there's ALWAYS a swap file of virtual memory running. Starting at 64 MB. Usually, it does not slow down things at all until it's nearing a GB. Now I'm talking only of generaly duty slowing. when working with audio, having too many things with duties on the HD ate an issue when you go beyond the usual system/apps/swap on the drive, then a separated drive for samples and or audio is mandatory when things start to be serious.

Oaomdal, on the buffer issue :

Low value = high CPU load, and when it's too low, clicks and pops
High value = low CPU load, no click and pops but latency is audible.

These settings have save the clicks and pops NO effect on the audio quality, or you've met strange cards…

Now please, be careful, it's a sub-forum centered on adaptation on macs when coming from PCs, not everything in the windows PC world is transposable. But if you're man enough wink.gif we have a small (but only needing attention) PC section (where a reverse switch sub-forum exists too) with people needing helps, you can help yourself there, so that everyone is welcome biggrin.gif (and there's a linux section too!)


--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home
BOING BUMM TSCHAK PENG! Are you musician enough to write in our Wiki?
BOING BUMM TSCHAK ZZZZZZZZZZZOING! Êtes-vous assez musicien pour écrire dans le Wiki?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gdoubleyou
post Fri 27 Apr 2007, 20:10
Post #5


Maniac Member
******

Group: Members
Posts: 899
Joined: 12-Oct 01
From: Kirkland
Member No.: 2,002




You really didin't say exactly what DAW you are using, but only Cubase4, and Cubase Studio4 are MacIntel compatible.

If you have Cubase SE that comes bundled with some interfaces, it is a Power PC app that has to run under Rosetta emulation.

The steinberg DAWS share codebase with the PC version, so the OSX specific optimization that orer DAWs contain is absent. that makes Cubase the most cpu hungry Mac DAW.

for details go to cubase.net

cool.gif


--------------------
G-Dub
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
musicproducer
post Thu 13 Jun 2013, 05:12
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 10-May 11
From: Indianapolis - US
Member No.: 117,701




Depending on what you mean by listening to your songs, it could be a clocking issue somewhere. That has been an issue for me off and on with multiple computers and programs contributing to the melee in my studio. Hope you get it/got it figured out!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Wed 13 Dec 2017, 17:54
- © MacMusic 1997-2008