MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Seperate Hard Drive For Music Apps., Does it matter?
gorillacake
post Tue 30 Jul 2002, 03:12
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,846

I've heard it's good to make a seperate hard drive or use a divider or something for all your music apps. because it frees up memory and makes your computer go faster. wheeee! How do you do this? I'm pretty new to mac's and maybe a little ignorant about computers in general. Thanks in advance.

--------------------
Hey Ringo------Have a banana!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
akirax
post Tue 30 Jul 2002, 03:39
Post #2

Rookie

Member No.: 4,460

well you could just buy a seperate hard drive probably 10+gb and also a fairly fast hard drive(not shure exactly but i would say 7200rpms+) and a fast seek time (-9ms). if you have the cash the ipod is fairly interesting and you could take your files and port them to other computers if you wanted without any hassle. well good luck biggrin.gif

+Quote Post
formatj
post Tue 30 Jul 2002, 03:56
Post #3

Group Icon

Group: Team
Member No.: 5,658

Having a separate drive for your audio files from your applications is a good idea. It won't really make your computer go faster however it will increase your track count slightly and will make your system/application drive less fragmented.

For the separate drive you will obviously need to buy one. smile.gif
What sort of mac do you have?
You can buy a firewire or IDE or SCSI.
If you have newer mac the first 2 are preferable.
If you have an iBook or tibook the firewire option is the one for you.

If you only have one drive and want to partition it you will need to re-format your drive. i.e. if you do this you will lose all data that you have on your drive so you should back everything up first.