MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Basic recording system with Free Pro Tools
post Wed 27 Mar 2002, 22:15
Post #1

Group:
Member No.: 0

I am just starting out trying to get a basic, inexpensive recording system on my G3 Mac. I am running OS 8.6, 350 mHz, 256 megs of RAM. I have a Yamaha CD burner with Adaptec Toast software. I just want to record some voice and guitar. I have been told to get a Shure SM57 microphone and plug it directly into my CPU, then use the Free Pro Tools software. Does this sound right? Should I get a mixer or will the free Pro Tools work okay by itself? Any advice anyone can offer would be most appreciated!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
geedoubleyou
post Thu 28 Mar 2002, 00:22
Post #2

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,293

I would suggest a mixer, you can find adapters but the connectors on the motherboard aren't made for that type of stress.

The SM57 is more of a live performance mike than, a recording mike. Some people do use them to close mike guitar amps. I would reccomend a condensor mike for a fuller frequency response.

You get what you pay for with Pro Tools free. I rarely use it, and then only to process a stereo track.

It's a good place to start, and for learning purposes. But for serious work you would want an audio interface. Pro Tools free forces you to record through the internal hardware. Supposedly you can use 3rd party cards for output, but it's always crashed my system.

But eventually you will want more tracks, features, and will buy an audio/midi app. Check out the software section of harmonycentral .com for demos

--------------------
G-Dub

+Quote Post
post Thu 28 Mar 2002, 16:59
Post #3

Group:
Member No.: 0

A condenser would be the best choice, but then you need phantom power to get it working.

Here's a decent $300 set up: