MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> m audio quattro and cubase/pro tools free, did i buy a pig in a blanket?
gorillacake
post Tue 28 May 2002, 01:42
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,846

I just bought the m-audio quattro usb interface and I'm wondering, Uh, did I just buy a piece of crap? I've been hearing a lot of negative stuff but I got it for a good deal and i wanted something that had 1/4' and midi input so...
also, I was thinking about getting cubase but I'm wondering if I should just use pro tools free for now since I'm a beginner and my needs are pretty basic. My question is, will the m-audio quattro work with pro tools free? I should note that I have not received the quattro yet. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

--------------------
Hey Ringo------Have a banana!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
post Wed 29 May 2002, 11:46
Post #2

Group:
Member No.: 0

hi

indeed, you have bought a piece of crap
the quattro has made me quite miserable and unproductive
i hope you have more luck/patience

i don't think PT free uses asio
if it does then it's ok, if it doesn't then you can't input audio, because the soundmanager doesn't seem to work with the quattro. or more likely the opposite.

the good news is that i've been able to use the MIDI in and 2 audio in/out at the same time, contrary to what people say.

+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Wed 29 May 2002, 13:24
Post #3

Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Member No.: 2,758

[better here smile.gif]

PT uses the sound manager for hardware not digidesign…

So if you need the sound manager and that the quattro doesn't like it (no personal experience but the horrors associated with this card are gore movies wink.gif as seen on the forums here) you're in bad luck rigth now… angry.gif