MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Should I Buy A Laptop Or Desktop?
Erik821
post Sat 20 May 2006, 06:27
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 78,182

I'm sure this has comeup in this forum before but I'd thought I'd ask again since I'm relatively new to Logic (and to Apple for that matter).

I was all set to get a new Mac desktop when the Intel's came out. It was going to be my Christmas present to myself. I had been thinking desktop all this time because in my mind a desktop Mac with oodles of power parked in my home studio just seemed more "pro" or "serious" than getting a Macbook. I was going to really go all out-soundproofing, racks and racks of gear, Neumann's, the whole nine.

Now I'm not so sure.

My situation: 95% VI use. The other 5% would be reserved for my limited guitar and vocal skills on audio tracks. I can see maxing out at around 25-30 Audio instruments in Logic.

I was thinking that if a 17" Macbook Pro was sufficient enough for that, why would I necessarily need a desktop? The benifits of having a laptop seem pretty nice. I can just pick up my firebox and headphones and I'm gone with basically my whole studio in tow.

Oh, and by the way, I live in a three bedroom house. Two of the bedrooms are occupied. I'm in the third (my studio). Wife wants a baby. It would be kind of stupid to build a studio instead of a baby room now anyway. That in itself may just seal the deal.

What do you guys think? 17" MB Pro or desktop? blink.gif

This post has been edited by Erik821: Sat 20 May 2006, 06:28
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
fishboisfo
post Sat 20 May 2006, 13:26
Post #2

Member No.: 67,641