MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> This Is A Confusing Time To Buy A Mac..., this is a confusing time to buy a mac...
seoul_revolution
post Tue 28 Mar 2006, 06:34
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 78,693

Or is it just me?

I'm a musician who has been planning for a while to buy a mac, but the whole Intel switch thing has me really confused. I joined this site hoping someone could give me some guidance.

I had been planning to spend big $ on a dual G5, but now I'm not so sure ... as I guess all the software is going to be moving to Intel eventually, or will run faster on the Intel macs... So now what I'm thinking is ... buy the Mac mini Intel core duo and max out the RAM at 2 gigs, add the Lacie or some other external drive for storage. Total price would come to $1300 or so.

What I'm looking to do is digital audio recording, with midi. The ability to sample and use virtual instruments would also be nice. Would I be able to do that with this setup?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can offer their thoughts.

best
Ian
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
yellowbeak
post Tue 28 Mar 2006, 18:06
Post #2

Member No.: 77,028

Hi there,

I think you're on the right path. I bought the new intel iMac, and I love it. While it is taking some time for a lot of the vendors to come around, serious releases are right on the horizon (betas abound) and drivers are there as well (even though some companies tended to drag their heels; m-audio for example).

That being said, with Intel being the chip of choice and the direction Apple is looking to move towards, it would probably be wise to invest the money as you had said. The new iMac, for example, is rockin' - and from what I have seen of product betas (which I cannot comment on in specifics due to NDAs) it is definitely worth the switch.

Hope that helps!!

--------------------