MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mac Edition Necessary?
cashmoney
post Wed 6 Sep 2006, 17:48
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 77,203

Hey Everyone...I'm fairly new to macs. I have a dual G4 w/ AGP graphics that I want to run 2 displays on. My question is this: Are all cards made by ATI or the ones in the Radeon family mac compatible? Does it necessarily have to be the "mac Edition"? Is the only difference the fact that the mac editions have the apple cinema display output on them? Can I get any ATI or radeon and drop it in? I'm running Tiger and using it for DP 4.6 by the way, if it makes a difference.
The reason I ask is that the "mac edition" cards seem to be much more expensive than their PC equivalents. I'm running 2 Sceptre 19" LCDs via DVI, so does it make a difference?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
lancet
post Wed 6 Sep 2006, 18:26
Post #2

Member No.: 46,480

The ROMs are different. see here...

Failure may mean a non-functioning video card

A cheap < $30 adapter is available to go from ADC to DVI. DVI to ADC on the other hand requires a much more expensive $300 adapter. Also, make sure that the Mac (or PC for that matter) card is dual head, or it won't extend the desktop. Some older cards have two connectors but can only mirror 2 displays.

good luck

This post has been edited by lancet: Wed 6 Sep 2006, 18:29

--------------------

+Quote Post
Jim Hoyland
post Thu 7 Sep 2006, 11:02
Post #3

Member No.: 81,499

A cheap option is the Village Tronic desktop doubler. Its discontinued but can still be bought at:

http://www.macupgrades.co.uk/store/index.p...facturers_id=27

comes in at £75. VGA only but I've been using one in both 9 and OSX with no problems other than some limitations on QuickTime playback on the extra desktop space.

--------------------