MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> My G4/protools/m-audio Situation...
parsifal
post Tue 13 Sep 2005, 03:07
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 69,936

Hi all...new to the forum & I'm kind of new to the whole world of computer recording too, coming from more of a tape & then digital 16 track DAW background...but pretty soon I'm going to have a s/h g4 Powermac ( 450 cpu, 512 ram) to play with.
I'm going to run ProTools Free on it ( can't afford full blown PT just yet) & I have a little audioBuddy pre. I'm also thinking about getting a better soundcard - something like the Audiophile 2496.

So...will this card be compatible with my set-up?

Oh...and my Mac has OS X & Panther installed, but ProTools Free only works on OS9 so I'm pretty sure I'll have to install that & remove OSX...unless it'll run in Classic mode.

Any tips, advice, etc will be gratefully received!!

Thanks..
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
coldharbour
post Tue 13 Sep 2005, 09:51
Post #2

Member No.: 62,351

ProTools free won't run under Classic, you have to install OS 9. Also note that PT Free has only 8 tracks. G4 450 MHz is quite a modest processor for audio work as well. Using that setup you will be able to run only quite small projects. M-Audio Audiophile 2496 is compatible with the above mentioned system.

I don't know what kind of projects you're working on, what are your needs and what is your budget, but I'd suggest getting a more powerful second-hand G4 (they don't cost an awful lot) and Digidesign MBox 2 (500 USD new, or the original MBox which is even cheaper), if you like working with ProTools. With that you also get ProTools LE software, and it runs on OS X which is way more sophisticated than OS 9.

+Quote Post
parsifal
post Tue 13 Sep 2005, 11:56
Post #3

Thanks man...