MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Samson Monitors, diff between resolv 80a's and rubicon's
greeneye
post Thu 28 Apr 2005, 22:29
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 64,916

Hi, can anyone tell me the difference between the samson resolov 80a's and their next level rubicon series. There is hardly any word on them to be found on the web. This would be much appreciated as I'm a complete novice all I know is that the rubicons because they use 'ribbon' for their cones it means they do not colour the sound which I prefer. but as I say havn't gotta clue, thanks
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
mrgrimm
post Fri 29 Apr 2005, 05:21
Post #2

Member No.: 60,810

i second that and i would love to hear something
about their bass as there is nothing about it
on the net afaik.

+Quote Post
bufflo
post Sat 30 Apr 2005, 03:11
Post #3

Member No.: 18,540

Well, I don't know much about them, but they have them at my local music store. So I listened to them, and I was a bit surprised. They're nothing like the other Samson monitors. The treble is very clear and detailed, the image did feel kind of "collected", but not narrow in a bad sense. Since I'm about to buy some monitors in that price range, I'll be going back there soon with my own music and listen again.

+Quote Post
mrgrimm
post Sat 30 Apr 2005, 03:18
Post #4

Member No.: 60,810

so what about the bass?

+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Sat 30 Apr 2005, 03:34
Post #5

Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Member No.: 2,758

Ribbons are great, but have other problems (more prone to failure, sensible to shocks). The sweet spot can be smaller too if i remember well.

If you want to be surprised listen to some ADAM speakers one day, Since I did, I want a pair one day… rolleyes.gif But it's aimed at a higher market anyway.