MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Anti 'Mac Rookie' Conspiracy?!?, Are 'Mac Rookies' generally ignored?
originalmidiot
post Mon 2 Jul 2001, 22:59
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 824

I'm a fish out of water when it comes to Mac/Midi/Audio stuff and it seems that whenever 'newbies' ask questions, they generally don't get many replies. Is it my imagination or are the forums geared towards the hardcore techies? Am I taking t he wrong approach, and if so, what approach should I take? Or should I educate myself first and enter forums only when my knowledge level is increased? Like I said, I'm new to this so I'm not sure on the protocol. Thanks.

--------------------
Technophobic Beginner needs major tutorial on Mac Audio/Midi. Itching to get started.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
DigitMus
post Mon 2 Jul 2001, 23:46
Post #2

Rookie

Member No.: 658

I think the problem is that the subject is so big & complicated that the task of answering such queries is daunting, to say the least. I suppose another factor is the perception that the questioner is being lazy by not doing some research first (there's a common saying in the world of professional audio & recording: RTFM - Read The F***ing Manual!). I haven't been reading the forums here for very long, so I don't really know how the attitude is here. I would suggest you try the forums at www.macfixit.com for any Mac related questions - they are very nice to beginners. For music making & recording, the expert forums at www.musicplayer.com are a very good place to start. Don't feel slighted or frustrated if your questions aren't answered right away, or if you don't get a lot of responses. All it takes is one right answer, and it may take days (or even weeks) for the right person to notice your question.