MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Akai S3000 Newbie Setup - Need Suggestions
ol2o
post Sat 14 Jun 2003, 19:43
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 19,671

I want a Akai S3000 XL. I'm new to it so I have several technical questions about set up.

CurrentEquipment list:

Akai s3000 XL
Powerbook G4 - no SCSI port, only firewire/Ethernet

Would you recommend for road use an external Hard Drive, CD Rom, or a zip for the scsi connection? What would be the best setup loading sounds and dependibility for a tour. Secondly, would a scsi to USB connector work to get it to connect to the laptop? If anybody cares to throw in some suggestions for sound editing software and transfer software for Mac OS X, that would be great too.

I'm wondering if a Benkin SCSI to USB connector will work as a direct interface from computer to sampler.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
ol2o
post Sun 15 Jun 2003, 19:19
Post #2

I've settled on using an external hard drive. What would be a good one/compatible for an Akai s3000 xl? Would about any work?

+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Mon 16 Jun 2003, 01:48
Post #3

Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Member No.: 2,758

S3000XL are stuck to 512 Mb of maximum capacity.

This said any SCSI 1-2 drive with that capacity will do. Akai strongly prevent that higher capacity drives are a bad idea.

Now on the adapter… I have no experience on it. But you have here a compatibility list of the devices it is known to work with. Note there is no samplers. I would be you I'd ask Belkin directly and I'll try the thing anyway to be sure.

As it is SCSI and scsi chains with samplers are a touchy subject I'd go there with body gards unsure.gif

--------------------
Our Classifeds • Nos petites annoncesTerms Of Service / Conditions d'UtilisationForum Rules / Règles des ForumsMacMusic.Org & SETI@Home