MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Midi Sampler Question
pinemarten3
post Fri 22 Nov 2002, 03:17
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 9,460

So, I'm totally new with the whole MIDI thing. Been using mostly analogue keyboards etc. It's gotten to the point where I just can't take all this stuff to shows anymore. So I'm thinking about getting a sampler (AKAI S2000, EMU ESI2000 something like that).

Here's my question, can I, using MIDI, run two keyboards into one sampler (with only one MIDI input) and play different parts on them? Do I need some sort of MIDI mixer?

Basically what I'm trying to do is replace a main keyboard with piano/string type sounds and a little MOOG synth, which I play during different parts of the same song. The idea being that I don't want to switch out MIDI ins for two separate controllers duing the middle of a song.

As I said, I'm completely new to this, so please be gentle.

Thanks in advance for the help.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
lepetitmartien
post Mon 2 Dec 2002, 07:22
Post #2

Moderator In Chief (MIC)
Group Icon

Group: Editors
Member No.: 2,758

there are a few things to consider…

- The sampler you are to use has a sound and all are not born equal
- The size of the banks you'll need, as it's suppose to replace on stage your beloved old keys, you won't cut corners and optimise to the max

the 2 parts into one sampler should not be an issue as you don't have 5165764 fingers wink.gif

I don't remember the exact polyphony of each ones, but either these or the just higher model should be ok. 16 voices are sufficient (correct me if I'm wrong, maybe you play with you feet AND your nose wink.gif then it would be a trouble laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
If I remember well that it's ok.