MacMusic.org  |  PcMusic.org  |  440Software  |  440Forums.com  |  440Tv  |  Zicos.com  |  AudioLexic.org
Loading... visitors connected
Welcome Guest
2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cue Files, Is there a way to use cue files on Mac?
redSunset
post Fri 26 Aug 2005, 07:28
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




Hello,
Is there a way to use cue files on mac?
Cue file is a text file that tells the windows app "Nero" how to build the CD, how to devide one whole cd track into many.

Is there a way to use it on Mac?

thanks
red
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
woodworm
post Fri 26 Aug 2005, 14:43
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-Aug 04
From: SunAndRainCity - BR
Member No.: 49,339




Well, a .cue file is pretty useless unless you have the corresponding .bin file (which contains the audio data). About every CD burner on mac will save CD images as .iso or burn a CD with bin/cue. Toast 6 and up, Dragon Burn, Disc Blazer to name a few.

You can also mount directly .nrg files: change .nrg to .iso The only format whih presents an issue on Mac is mdf/mds. For that you'll need to mount it with Alcohol 120% and save as .iso, either on a PC or on VPC.

The other way around, when you save a disc as image with toast, change the .toast to .iso and you can mount them on a PC.

I hope the above helps smile.gif

Lehitraot.

This post has been edited by woodworm: Fri 26 Aug 2005, 14:45
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redSunset
post Fri 26 Aug 2005, 15:19
Post #3


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




Hello,
thanks, and thanks for the "see you":)
what i got is a cue file, with the extension .cue, and a corresponding mp3 file, not bin or anythin.
each time i need to go to nero on windoes in order to use the cue files with the corresponding mp3 file.

VPC can't handle it since it's too slow even though i got a G5, dual, with 1.5GB ram and i gave it 500mb.
i must go (and i hate it) to a real pc machine.

So i was wondering if and how can i use these file in my mac.
I did put Toaset on iso and selected the file but when burning it burned the file itself and not the corresponding mp3.

i hope i explained myself better.
I'm not too famieler with the terms you used, don't know what is nrg.

aslo, the files i'm talking about are not being made by mac...

thanks
red
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
woodworm
post Fri 26 Aug 2005, 18:07
Post #4


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-Aug 04
From: SunAndRainCity - BR
Member No.: 49,339




QUOTE (redSunset @ Aug 26 2005, 14:19)
...even though i got a G5, dual, with 1.5GB ram and i gave it 500mb.
i must go (and i hate it) to a real pc machine.

Now I hate you smile.gif

mp3 and .cue... never seen that before. You may want to try to change the .mp3 to .bin, then use toast. Not by selecting iso, but by selecting bin/cue. You can then save as disk image, which will result in a .toast (iso) file. Mount that iso file and check the contents... Make sure you have disabled Stuffit's ability to compress files by renaming them in the finder, otherwise it will compress your mp3 as soon as you change the extension to .bin wink.gif

You could of course burn straight to CD, but making a disc image will probably prevet you from making some coasters.

nrg is a nero image file. A bit like .toast is a Toast image file. They are essentially iso images with a different extension.

As to VPC being slow... I'm on a G4 667, and although launching VPC7 is a bit slow indeed, working with Alcohol afterwards is ok speed-wise.

But I understood you well. I make discs from a variety of image formats originating on PC or Mac on a daily basis (or almost).

Something to keep you busy this shabbes I guess.... Have a good one smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redSunset
post Sat 27 Aug 2005, 10:31
Post #5


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




hi...
sorry for being so stupid, but how do i disabled stuffits abitly to compress fiels on changing extension?
what is coasters? (don't understand the meaning)
thanks for all your help
red
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redSunset
post Sat 27 Aug 2005, 10:42
Post #6


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




oh.. and i try to add or drag the cue file i got and it told me it's not a valid .cue file sad.gif sad.gif
and i hate the fact that i need pc. it unberable!

This post has been edited by redSunset: Sat 27 Aug 2005, 10:51
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
woodworm
post Sat 27 Aug 2005, 18:11
Post #7


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-Aug 04
From: SunAndRainCity - BR
Member No.: 49,339




QUOTE (redSunset @ Aug 27 2005, 09:31)
hi...
sorry for being so stupid, but how do i disabled stuffits abitly to compress fiels on changing extension?
what is coasters? (don't understand the meaning)

oh.. and i try to add or drag the cue file i got and it told me it's not a valid .cue file
and i hate the fact that i need pc. it unberable!

Disable the Stuffirt thing in Sytem Preferences > Stuffit AVR > Stuffit ArchiveViaRename: Off

Coasters: A small mat or plate placed under a glass, cup or mug to protect a tabletop or other surface beneath.

It will say it is not a valid cue file if it doesn't find the corresponding .bin file - which should be in the same folder at the same level.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redSunset
post Sun 28 Aug 2005, 05:44
Post #8


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




hi again.
thanks for all your help.
When i use the cue file i got and the corresponding mp3 (which of course are under the same folder) under Nero, i got no prolblem in burning it. In fact, the 3rd raw of the cue file (if you open it under any text editor) must have the same name as the mp3 and sure it is.
Now, that i manage to do what you said, i still get the same error, "<file name> is not a valid .bin or.cue file".
so i guess this error has no connection to the bin file which is under the same folder but something else.

I also found under toast help:
In order to copy a Bin/Cue file pair, they should be in the same folder. These two files should also have the same first names (for example, Image.bin and Image.cue).
• Note: For an audio CD saved in the Bin/Cue file pair format, there may be another file (called .CDT) that holds CD-TEXT information.

Well, i don't have a .CDT file and it looks like there is no other solutino but to go to pc...

very very sad angry.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
woodworm
post Mon 29 Aug 2005, 15:56
Post #9


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 23
Joined: 23-Aug 04
From: SunAndRainCity - BR
Member No.: 49,339




Just a wild thought... does your cue/mp3 nero pair contain mp3 tracks? It may be worth trying to open either the cue or the mp3 directly in iTunes.

Otherwise, changing the name of the .mp3 to .bin with a text editor in the cue file after changing the .mp3 file estension to .bin, then using Toast... possibly?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
redSunset
post Mon 29 Aug 2005, 18:07
Post #10


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 09-Nov 04
From: Tel-Aviv - IL
Member No.: 54,713




hi:)
well, changing in the cue file didn't help, got same results.
i can't put the cue in iTunes. it doesn't recognize it.
red
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Lo-Fi Version - Sun 2 Oct 2022, 00:42
- © MacMusic 1997-2008